Reflection on Steve Hansen interview

Steve Hansen is the current New Zealand rugby union coach. He is a world cup winner with the all blacks and clearly has an eye for success. The interview is conducted by Dylan Cleaver.

Within the first paragraph Steve talks about man management and how it is important to have control of a group of players. In my view this is massively important as everyone within the squad from the players to the backroom staff has to have a level of respect for everyone not just the coach. In relation to my coaching, it is important that I have control as I coach little children so if i let them do what they want they wouldn’t learn anything and most likely just do what they want to do. Following on from this, Steve then talks about having an emotional intelligence with his players. This is massively important throughout sport in general as if you can sense un-ease within the squad then that could effect your performances. It is important for me to have know how my players are feeling because I have to keep them happy, it is all about enjoyment in my team  and it should be at a young age. I also have to keep the parents happy so I make sure everyone gets a good run out on the pitch otherwise I have parents on my back. The Human Relations Theory and People Management states ” Control is perhaps a key term here. The emergence of experimental natural science and the growing body of theory that went with it, which quickened from the seventeenth century on-wards yielded the possibility of control over the physical circumstances of life”

Steve is then goes onto say it’s important to understand them as individuals, at elite sport level I think this is important because as a manager you want to get the best out of your players and if your know what makes them tick it allows them to put in a good performance.Weinberg, R.(1995) States “A person by situation international model is presented and used to help you understand motivation in a variety of physical contexts”  This doesn’t relate to my coaching but relates to me within playing on a Saturday for my local football team. For some strange reason if i get dropped to the bench I always come on and make a statement either that game or the game after. For example I was recently dropped for a few bad performances and then one game I started out of position I scored 4 goals.

Following on, Steve talks about not worrying what has happened and concentrate on what could happen. He states “Against Ireland in 2013 [won 24-22] is a great example there. We could have given up there and resigned ourselves to a loss but one of the beauties of this team is it doesn’t want to do that.” This gives an indication about his team their character his character and what kind of person Steve is. When playing elite sport for your country it is vital that you never give up because millions of people are wanting you to win. If you are losing and down and out you play for pride play for your badge. Never give up no matter what the situation is whether that be in personal life of a sporting context. This is what I tell me players both when coaching and when playing.

The interviewer then ask’s Steve about over coaching and can you over coach. Steve states “Over-coaching is when you take all that stuff you’ve looked at and then try to make someone else process it.” By this he means watching lot’s of footage and want this players to process it in a short period of time. He then goes onto say “The job of the coach is to facilitate an environment where the performance on Saturday is the head of the triangle and the base of the triangle is learning and fun.” This is a great statement by Steve as it shows his character and that it is important to learn whilst having fun even if it’s in a professional environment. If you try process to much information in a context which isn’t fun then it will bore the players and the information won’t stick. In relation to my coaching I try and make things as fun as I can because there only young kids but i also want them to learn as well. It is important for myself and other coaches to have a good balance.

Dylan ask’s Steve who does he learn from. His response “You learn from everybody. Every encounter you have with a human being, or even animals, if your mind is open you’ll learn something. If it’s not you’ll go through life learning nothing.” This relates to my coaching background and how much information you pick up and tips just by watching people coach. Whether that be on television or in university little things which you see always could be helpful.

Reference List

Rose, N. (2005) Human Relations Theory and People Management. Available at: http://www.corwin.com/upm-data/9805_039184ch02.pdf (Accessed: 28 April 2016). 

Weinberg, R. and Gould, D. (1995) ‘Foundations of sport and exercise in psychology’, Foundations of sport and exercise in psychology, .

Leave a Reply

